Why I have Roosters!

A good rooster is great protection for the hens. He will put himself between any predator and his hens. If they are free-range he will not only lead them to tasty treats to eat, he will do a little song and dance called “tidbitting” to let the hens know he has found food. Then he will let them eat first and offer them bugs he’s caught from his beak. It fascinates me to watch them do this. They are such gentlemen. Some people will say that you don’t really need a rooster and I guess you don’t need them but why not enjoy this ritual, the beautiful sound of their crowing and their protective qualities if you can? And of course that they can fertilize the eggs if you would like to incubate and hatch your own chicks is a huge advantage!

Here at Cheese Acres we have several Roos and they each have their own little flock of girls that they take protecting very seriously. We never have a hen wander off on her own. Have we had accidents? Of course, but I think our roosters have helped keep some predators away. We have our Roos distributed among the girls so no one gets too much “attention”. 😉
I really think as long as you keep your number of roosters in proportion to your hens you will have little problem. ( 1 Roo to 8-10 hens)

As you can see I am loving my roosters. They are beautiful creatures. Think it through before you decide if your flock needs one, or some!

Clarence  is a gentle Roo!
Clarence is a gentle Roo!
I'm handsome and I know it!
I’m handsome and I know it!
Auburn, pretty boy!
Auburn, pretty boy!
8 thoughts on “Why I have Roosters!

  1. I love roosters and think they are so handsome, but everyone we have had so far have been beyond mean. Nasty mean, so at this point we have none and are not looking to add any. Fortunately for us our little Cairn terrier takes care of them from the time they arrive.

  2. I have a gentleman roo named, Benedict. He is a wonderful boy…always has his eye on the sky for those intermittent hawks. One question…do your girls (hens) have feather loss off of their backs? Some of my hens have a pretty bare back and I think it is from Benedict. Have you seen this before?

  3. I am so jealous. We just had to do away with our rooster, because he was so hard on the hens. My ratio was more than generous, but for some reason he was beyond mean, rough and definitely not a protector when out on the range. I want a gentleman rooster, but not to be this year.

Leave a Reply

