Cool treats for the girls! (Hens that is)

In the last blog I talked about how delicious blackberry and blueberry jelly is and how easy the Roma food mill makes juicing the berries. When you finish with the juicing process there is a lot of seeds left. Whatever are you to do with it? Throw it out? Certainly not! My girls love a cool treat on a hot day and I’m sure yours will too. This is the mush I am left with after the jelly making is over.

Juice is all out!
Juice is all out!

I have run the berries through the mill so much there is not much juice left, but the girls love to peck seeds. So I will add a little water to make it juicy and add it to cake and/or cupcake pans and then freeze for a refreshing treat. They absolutely love it!

Ready to go in the freezer!
Ready to go in the freezer!

Here is what happens when the girls get their treats!

Big girls with their berry "cupcake"
Big girls with their berry “cupcake”
Middles enjoying their cool treat
Middles enjoying their cool treat
10 thoughts on “Cool treats for the girls! (Hens that is)

  1. I am making it my goal this summer to learn how to can/preserve, and my girls would love this! They get a lot of scraps anyway, but I never though of freezing them!

Leave a Reply

