Making black or blueberry Jelly!

Let me start by saying that buying my Roma food mill was the wisest thing I think I’ve ever done! If you don’t have a food mill, I highly recommend one for getting the seeds out of those berries or for just squashing the fruits up a bit if you prefer. It’s also a great tool when canning tomatoes.

I always start my jelly making by of course washing the berries and then running them through the food mill. Here are some pictures of what that process looks like and what you will see left over. On this particular day I started with blackberries first.

Berries in the bowl
Berries in the bowl
Squish the berries, save the juice
Squish the berries, save the juice
Out comes the seeds
Out comes the seeds

I repeat this process many times. As you can see in the last picture there is still a lot of juice after one time through. No waste here! I will run it through the mill 5-6 times at least.

After once through the mill
After once through the mill
Juice is all out!
Juice is all out!

After getting the juice all out I can now go on to clean up a bit and repeat the process with my blueberries and store all my juice in the refrigerator and make jelly the next day. Or I can begin making jelly now. It really just depends on the time I have and what I have to do that day. Either way works just fine.

Beautiful blueberry juice
Beautiful blueberry juice

On to the jelly making! The main point here is how much easier it is with a food mill. I’m not going to tell you one recipe is better than another but I will tell you that I use a lower sugar recipe and am currently experimenting with fruit juices to go lower and even no sugar. (3 cups is as little sugar as I could use without adding more pectin.) I will let you know how that goes! But this is the recipe I use currently.

6 cups of mashed berries or juice
3- 3 1/2 cups sugar or sugar equivalent
4 Tbsp. pectin

Place juice mixture in a large pot. Combine 1/4 cup sugar with 1 Tbsp pectin. Stir into juice mixture as you bring it to a boil. Add the remaining sugar slowly to reduce foaming. Bring to a second boil. Let boil for one minute. Remove from heat let stand 5 minutes and do a gel check. If it is the consistency you like funnel into jars. Process in a water bath 10 minutes.

Helpful hints: Adding 1 tsp butter will help avoid foam. Wipe the top and rim of jars before putting on lids and rings. Don’t over tighten rings.
Gel check: Put a spoon in a glass of cold water, dip a small amount of jelly out and let cool. Does it slide off or stay on? If it stays on and appears gel like, it’s good!

9 thoughts on “Making black or blueberry Jelly!

  1. I love my food mill also! I even bought another one that I found at an estate sale for a cheap price to keep as a backup. When I juice berries, I like to heat them slightly on the stove or in the microwave to help release some of the juices. Then I use a stick blender to puree the berries. This way I only have to run the berries through the mill once or twice.

    Do you have the various strainer attachments for yours? Last year I ordered the berry strainer and pumpkin strainers for mine and love them. The berry strainer still leaves a few strawberry seeds, but nothing compared to the next strainer up. ~ Tilly

    1. Thanks! I just added it. I’m working on my blueberry syrup post for this week, it has taken a pit of perfecting to get the syrup just like I want it, but oh my goodness- so delish!

  2. Pingback: Rowan Jelly / Rognebærgelè | RecipeReminiscing

Leave a Reply

