Silly Animal Laws

Goldie healing from injury in "sick bay"
Goldie healing from injury in “sick bay”
I found these silly animal laws in the 2014 Farmer’s Almanac. One of them just happens to be in my home state of Georgia in a little town called Quitman. Actually it is not far from my home. I hope you all enjoy these laws as much as we did along with my little wise cracks I just had to add!

In Quitman,Ga it is against the law for a chicken to cross a road within the city limits! This one just cracks me up.

It is illegal to carry a snake across the border into Tennessee. Really? I’m sure Tennessee has enough snakes without all the people of Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina and Virginia smuggling theirs across the border!

In Alaska you may not view a moose from an airplane.
So how do you stop that?

In Arizona it is illegal for your donkey to sleep in your bathtub. Okay I am just shaking my head at this one.

Don’t dare tie your giraffe to a telephone or lamp-post in Atlanta Ga. I would think it is illegal to even own a giraffe but, oh well. I will make sure I keep mine in the barn.

You are not allowed to have a stinky dog in Illinois. Uh oh. I can’t live there.

Whatever you do don’t hunt whales in Kansas! ( FYI No ocean anywhere near)

If you are going to a public place in Baltimore, leave your lion at home. Yeah, I’m thinking that might cause a riot.

And last but not least don’t blow your nose in public in Leahy, Washington. You wouldn’t want to scare the horses.

Reading these seriously outdated and utterly silly laws has definitely put a smile on my face, but I’m thinking they need removing from the books!

4 thoughts on “Silly Animal Laws

  1. I saw a comedian do a schtick about the warning labels that get put on things that mean SOMEONE has tried whatever the stupid warning is about. (Do not place hands under mower while blades are in motion.) So, when I read those bizarre old laws, I figure SOMEBODY must have done it and somebody else found it objectionable. And it makes me shake my head. Except the whales in Kansas. THAT just gives me a brain cramp.

Leave a Reply

